RAID + IDE + slave/master huh?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Anthony_Gomez, Feb 14, 2003.

  1. I know there is another thread on RAID right now, but I didn't want to crash it since I am looking at something different.

    I am a newbie to RAID, but I have done "some" reading up.

    I want to put together a system using 2x WD80GB drives in RAID-1 for mirroring only, and also have a CDRW on normal IDE.

    I plan on using the ASUS A7V8X motherboard

    The motherboard has 2 IDE sockets for ATA100, and 1 socket for RAID.

    Do I do a master/slave (with jumpers) with the 2 drives and hook it up to the RAID port and leave the CDRW as master on IDE-0 ...or what? I would think that I would want them both as Masters running independently, but there is one raid port and 2 normal IDE.

    lets suppose I wanted 3 RAID-1 drives,....how do I then do that since the IDE cable only has 1 branch...and the MB only has one RAID socket?....the board supports 3 RAID-1 drives.


    thanks for any help!!!
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,763
    Likes Received:
    486
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I think you just need to get a cable to connect all 3 drives on one bus.
     
  3. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    243
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    Is there a specific reason you want to do RAID 1? It will be slower than a single or multiple single drives.

    With IDE RAID, you cannot hook up more than 2 drives to one channel as master and slave. This means that your RAID 1 will be even slower, since both drives use the same bus for throughput.
     
  4. The computer has critical data on it so that is why it is being mirrored.
     
  5. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    243
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    Well, if you don't object to losing half your HD capacity, I'd suggest you get a RAID card with at least 2 channels and don't put more than one drive per channel. Your mobo's one channel RAID solution is no solution.
     
  6. thanks for the advice...are there any inexpensive cards that you can think of?
     
  7. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,845
    Likes Received:
    243
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    RocketRAID133 is under $30. As with most RAID cards, installation is may be tricky, especially if you try to install the OS on the RAID.

    You should probably get another smaller drive as your boot partition. It is not recommended to boot up on a RAID partition. Boot up with a smaller single IDE drive to hold OS and programs, and use the RAID area for critical data files.
     

Share This Page