Rack Mount HTPC cases?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by JohanD, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone here done a rack mount HTPC?

    I thought that would look reaally good with rack mount audio equipment..

    a case somewhat like this
    http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...egory_Code=ARC

    would make everyting in a convinient location.. and make your HTPC look like another piece of audio equipment [​IMG]
     
  2. gregstaten

    gregstaten Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1997
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine was rack-mounted using a rackshelf from Middle Atlantic. The problem I found with most rackmount cases is that they, being designed for servers, render farms, etc that would live in a dedicated room, are loud as hell with lots of fans projecting air and noise forward.

    -greg
     
  3. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure if you bought an empty case though, you could certainly modify the fan situation to your liking. Replace the PS (or order it w/o PS) with a whipser quiet one.

    Would be a good location for a 5.25" breakout box also..
     
  4. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, mostly companies use them due to their space efficiency. But there isn't anything saying we could build one for home use [​IMG]
     
  5. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sadly, the rackmount PC's of today are for companies, not people. Does anyone remember the first PC cases with the buttons on both sides that you had to push to lift the hinged top off?

    The idea was to put your monitor on top of them, putting it at eye level, but the whole concept went down the drain. What happened?

    Glenn
     
  6. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    are rack mount PC's and amplifiers even interchangeable in the same rack?

    IE is a 2U PC case the same size as a 2U amplifier? (Crown CE-1000?)
     

Share This Page