Quick Question

Chris KAudio

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I am brain dead today guys... I hooked up my new surround system and was wondering how to get my TV set up to where when I am watching cable, it utilizes all the speakers, not just my tv speakers? What would the connection be?
 

Johnny_M

Second Unit
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
Points
0
you should have a audio out on either the tv or the cable, just run that into any input on your receiver.


Johnny
 

Chris KAudio

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Points
0
thanks Johnny... seems simple enough.

My project tonight is to set up by new Home Theater MX-500 Remote
Wish me luck!
 

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 1999
Messages
6,548
Reaction score
166
Points
9,110
Location
Corpus Christi, TX
Real Name
Wayne
Like Johnny noted, there should be audio output jacks on your TV. If there is a menu option to turn off the TV’s internal speakers, you’ll want to do that.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
 

Chris KAudio

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Points
0
ok follow up question:

I tried doing it last night and couldnt get it to work.

I dont have a cable box, the cable just goes directly to the back of the TV. I already have a digital audio cable running from the back of the TV to the receiver.. should that be able to use the sound from the cable to the speakers?

Any ideas?
 

Lee Carbray

Second Unit
Joined
Oct 23, 2002
Messages
308
Reaction score
0
Points
0


Huh? If we are talking just basic cable, and it looks like we are since you do not have a cable box. That usually means the use of a stereo pair of RCA cables. Usually red and white in color.

What model is your TV? Like Wayne said, you may also have to disable the TV speakers int he set up menu to enable the audio out.
 

Chris KAudio

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Points
0
so all I need to do is use the RCA (red and white) cables from the back of my TV to any location on my receiver (ex: vid 1). Disable my speakers on my TV and then make sure my receiever is set to Vid 1?

Sorry Im a newbie... I am learning a lot though.
 

Chris KAudio

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
79
Reaction score
0
Points
0
If I have anymore problems, I will ask away. In the mean time, thanks for all of your help everybody.
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,649
Messages
4,685,873
Members
140,975
Latest member
derpok