quick question for HK AVR 320 or 520 owners about remote responsiveness

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Judy Y, Jun 24, 2002.

  1. Judy Y

    Judy Y Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to get into DVD audio and so need to change to a unit with a 6 channel pre in. One of the other requirements I have, though, is to make my system easier for my significant other to use. Could anyone tell me how well the HK's respond to remote commands? My current unit, an Adcom preamp, damn near ignores every other command sent to it and usually will not power up with my macros on my universal remote. It makes it very difficult for others to power my system on.

    Secondly, is there any real difference between the 320 and 520 other than amps? (I don't care about that, I am going to use an outboard amp anyway....)

    THANKS!
     
  2. peter_anderson

    peter_anderson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    the remote ALWAYS works with my AVR 320. as for the differences between the models, the 520 has re-assignable amps, i.e. you can physically switch cables in the back to make it use the internal front amps to power the back surrounds if you have an external amp for the front l+r.
     
  3. Judy Y

    Judy Y Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much for the response, Peter! I think I am going to order the 320 today.

    Judy
     
  4. Steve K.H.

    Steve K.H. Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ummm... the 320 does not decode HDCD...
     

Share This Page