What's new

Quick question about 480p and DVDs (1 Viewer)

Chris_S

Auditioning
I am new to the whole HDTV stuff. I just got an HDTV a few weeks ago. A couple of things I've noticed is on DVDs there is a little saturation or grain in certain scenes of DVDs in bright spots. Is this because of compression or am i picking up interference from something? Just wondering.

Could someone answer me this?

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
It's impossible to answer without talking about specific DVDs. What you've described is so generic that it could be caused by any number of factors (including the intended look of the source material).

I'm not sure why the title refers to "480p".

M.

Chris_S

Auditioning
I have a JVC 48wp30 HDTV. My DVD player is a XV-N50BK. The DVD's are American Beauty for one. One scene where Spacey is talkin to that "Brad" guy at the beginning of the movie. The wall behind Spacey has a small fuzziness about it. Some movies have this same affect. Everything looks great except for a few spots like that.

Hope that helps. Also the reason 480p is in the title I thought maybe it was just because of progressive scan and seeing the screen bigger.

I don't really see it in anything other then 480p.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
I don't have American Beauty so I can't comment on that. When you switch over to 480i are you saying that the "grain" disappears?

It is also possible that your television has a better line doubler then your DVD player. That could be one reason why the 480i picture looks better(thats how it was explained to me anyway).

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
It is also possible that your television has a better line doubler then your DVD player