Quick...Does the Tosh 32A41 have 16x9 squeeze?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matt Krapf, Apr 12, 2002.

  1. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I've spent a few hours searching threads specifically for this one set. I've seen it in Best Buy, and it's excellent at a glance.

    I know it has 750 lines of resolution(per the documentation), but...

    DOES IT SQUEEZE?? by menu or any other means?

    Please help.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Matthew Furtek

    Matthew Furtek Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Matt,

    I a Toshiba 32A41, and have searched through here and the AVS forum and can't find any information on forcing the 32A41 to do the squeeze.

    Bought mine this Summer and I'm happy with the purchase as my first TV ever. Its a bit heavy though. I'm in college and have to lug it back and forth for the Winter and Summer long breaks... realized that's nearly impossible to do if I also am lugging back and forth my whole DVD collection.

    Matthew Furtek
     
  3. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    That set is the direct descendent of the CZ32V51--and it could so the "squeeze" from the service menu. My own bedroom set, the CZ27V51, can be "squeezed" from the service menu, as well.

    So, yes, the 32A41 should certainly be able to do the raster-collapse function from the service menu. You'll have to ask around for the service menu codes, however. Someone here at HTF surely knows them.
     
  4. Allen Longcor

    Allen Longcor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmmm the squeeze as in putting all available lines into the 16X9 area? It doesn't say this anywhere that I have seen. I own the set and would be very interested if this was possible.
     
  5. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Well, Toshiba is not going to advertise the fact that the raster can be collapsed into a 16:9 window from the service menu--you know, it's a warranty kind of thing. In fact, Toshiba and most other OEMs don't even acknowledge the existence of a service menu. But it's there.
    Yes, to your question, though. That's what the "squeeze trick" is all about: compressing the entire scanning-line raster into a 16:9 window. Once you're used to seeing 16:9-encoded DVDs in a 16:9 window, there's no going back. The very thought of in-player downconversion become unacceptable.
     
  6. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies guys. Really thinking I want this set. Just trying to pin down this little detail.
    Jack, you seem pretty certain the "squeeze" ought to be possible with this set. But I'm not sure it's clear.
    Can you offer up a more specific "Yes" or "No"?
    Ideally, if you could point me in the direction of how to do it...
    a:access the svc menu
    b:which setting sets the raster area, etc.
    ...that would be fantastic. Allen and Matthew would love it too. [​IMG]
     
  7. Allen Longcor

    Allen Longcor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    I watch all my movies in widescreen so I would absolutely love this feature. Is there any danger of perhaps breaking, burning in, etc.... if you do this though?
    By the way the TV has been great. Movies look great even without squeeze mode, and videogames are solid. [​IMG]
     
  8. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good point Allen, I still play LOTS of Playstation, so the idea of the 32" seems great to me for that alone. :)
    Hopefully Jack or someone else will be able to help with the detail on the Squeeze Trick. [​IMG]
    Later
     
  9. Bill Will

    Bill Will Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    All Samsung's 20 inch & up can do the "Squeeze Trick" with just the push of a button on the remote control. No service menu to enter.
     
  10. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  11. Allen Longcor

    Allen Longcor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone please help us out! I didn't know that sets could do the squeeze via a hidden feature. I would love to test this out so if anyone knows how to do it please let us know. [​IMG]
     
  12. Bill Will

    Bill Will Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    For sets that can do the "Squeeze Trick" by entering the service menu check www.hometheaterspot.com They have a lot of posts on "Service Menus" & how to get into them plus the "Squeeze Trick" Check under each tv's Brand Name for info about the brand you are looking for. If you don't see them over there try doing a search on that board.
     
  13. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried that...they don't appear to have anything particular to Direct View Sets. They appear to be RPTV and HD lovers over there.
    Posters here have been helpful, and I've cobbled together more info from several "searches" here than anywhere else.
    (Gotta love HTF [​IMG] )
    As it is, I "believe" this set has the ability to squeeze.
    It may take some extra posts...until someone who knows for sure sees the thread. Either way, I think I'd be happy with this set.
    I'd just be happier to figure out the Squeeze. [​IMG]
    So we'll keep trying.
     
  14. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  15. Matt Krapf

    Matt Krapf Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...I got the 32a41, and it's amazing.
    Really.
    I'm going to e-mail Jack to see if he can advise me of the
    way to SQUEEZE the picture.
    Will keep you posted.
    [​IMG] I love this big picture.
     
  16. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I have the 36" tosh model and it was a nice set until I upgraded. I'm curious to see this squeeze thing myself since it's a capable tv feature, even though I dont need it since I have a widescreen now , but I'd like to compare the before and after the squeeze effects.
     
  17. Jim Millar

    Jim Millar Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you check this site you will find the info you need -
    http://gregl.net/videophile/16x9on4x3.htm -
    be careful and do as he says - write down all your original settings before changing anything - good luck !! (the way to get into the service menu is on the FAQ page)[​IMG]
     
  18. Barry BB

    Barry BB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put together my first HT last summer/fall. I bought a 32A41 at a great price but as I tried to educate myself on HT I missed learning about the most important thing - anamorphic DVD's and how you lose resolution if the television does not do the squeeze.

    I have been afraid to go into the service menu for fear of screwing up but after reading the link provided by Jim I went into the service menu last night and now that I see how easy it is to get in it and navigate through it I am ready to give the squeeze a try.

    I can probably figure out what the correct height setting (HIT on the Toshiba) should be. But the link says that after changing the height setting that it may be necessary to also change the DPC setting. Is there anyone that has done the squeeze on a 32A41 that can post what they set their HIT and DPC settings to? Also are there any other settings that may need to be adjusted?
     

Share This Page