What's new

Questions on sound quality on ONKYO TX-SR701 (1 Viewer)

MattWong

Auditioning
Hi All,

I have just gotten an Onkyo TX-SR701 and have a few questions which appreciate your insights:

1. Is it normal that I have to turn the volume dial to at least 65+ (abs) or (~--20-15dB in rel mode) in order to have decent volume coming out of the front speakers? I am concerned how well the receiver function at the high-end of its power curve, and the noise distorting that comes along with it.

BTW, I am using a set of Vandersteen 2Ce with no subwoofer and rear speakers. I have set the input setting to large front speakers only. As a comparison, I have a TX-SV727 which I have been using for the past 7+ years, and I only need to set the dial to about 4-5 to get same if not louder sound out of the same set of speakers.

2. I also noticed that there is a significant tonal difference between the two receivers. I like my TX-SV727 because it gives out very full-body sound, and I found that the TX-SR701 sound seems to be brighter/crisper (mid-range sound?), but lacks the low-end bass which gives volume and fullness to the sound. The manual says by setting the subwoofer to "no", all frequencies are sent to the front speakers. But, they don't sound the same! Are there other configurations that need to be set/changed?

I appreciate anyone who has similar experience or have insight as to what one could do to improve the sound quality.

Thanks!

- matt

PaulDA

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Paul