Questions from someone just getting into music with his home theater

Discussion in 'Music' started by Sam R. Aucoin, Jul 11, 2003.

1. Sam R. Aucoin

Sam R. Aucoin Stunt Coordinator

Although I am an avid collector of movies on DVD, I am VERY new to the music-arena when it comes to using my home theater setup to the "fullest". Thus, some questions:

1. Based on many articles that I have read, it SEEMS that SACD provides probably the "best sound" (and I realize this is subjective) when comparing SACD vs. DVD-A vs. CD. Am I correct?

2. It also seems that DVD-A allows for more than just sound (videos, still galleries, etc.), whereas SACD appears geared towards maximizing the most out of the music. Am I correct?

3. Are SACD and DVD-A "true" (meaning, were they created with the intention of maximizing audiophile sound out of the traditional two speaker setup) two-channel formats, or are they 5.1/6.1/7.1?

4. I have a Sony 9000ES DVD player (which, of course, plays SACD but not DVD-A), an M&K750THX Select speaker setup, and a Denon 5700THX receiver. I noticed that while playing my Eagles "Hotel California" DVD-A (which also has 5.1 DD and DTS tracks), all five of my speakers sounded as though the same amount of bass was being sent to them. Was I hearing correctly? If so, this appears to me to be "dangerous" for the surround speakers, as they are not meant to handle the same range of highs and lows as my LCR and sub - correct?

5. Is there a consensus that a 5.1 setup (or 6.1/7.1, for that matter) sounds better (whether playing DVD-A or SACD) than the "traditional" two-speaker stereo sound?