Questions for Miyazaki fans

Discussion in 'Movies' started by Brian"Thomas", Apr 22, 2003.

1. Brian"Thomas"

Brian"Thomas" Auditioning

Hey everyone. I am a newbie here and I have a question about Hayao Miyazaki's films. I have heard he is a tremendous animator, and I was curious as to what his top 5 films were? Also, are his films childish and don't appeal to adults. I'm a 20 year old with no kids and am a big animation fan, as long as there is stuff I can enjoy. I don't like stuff for kids only. Some of his movies APPEAR to be childish, so I was curious if they are or if i'm pre-judging. Any help appreciated. Thanks

Brian

2. RafaelB

RafaelB Second Unit

Hello and Welcome Brian! [​IMG]

As I'm sure you'll get a few replies about the wonder of Hayao Miyazaki's films, to answer your questions. His films aren't childish yet they are full of a child-like wonder that appeal to young and old alike. Some of his best movies are:

Spirited Away
    My Neighbor Totoro
    Kiki's Delivery Service
    Castle in the Sky
    Princess Mononoke (probably his most adult-oriented film)

all the above are available in region 1 (Totoro in a pan and scan only dubbed version).

Hope this answers your questions. Oh, and for the record, I'm a single man in my early thirties who can't get enough animated fare. [​IMG]

Rafael

3. Matt<>Broon

Matt<>Broon Stunt Coordinator

To start with I'd recommend picking out Princess Mononoke (I always want to carry the 'on' a bit further with that title... Monononononoke *ahem* I digress :b)

Anyway, Mononoke and Spirited away are probably his most accessible films (although a spirited debate about the 'explanations' surrounding spirited away and a seeming lack of cohesiveness currently rages elsewhere on these forums).

All the films in the list given by Brian are excellent although I feel Totorro is more explicitly youngster orientated.

Anyway I'm twenty something myself and I love them. I hope that's some recommendation!