What's new
World Wide Stereo

Questions about Home Theater system with budget (1 Viewer)

metallicamike31

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting after doing a lot research. I am new to the home theater hobby but I am getting interested very fast.

I am looking into buying a complete 5.1 home theater system (htib, or separate receiver and speakers) to go with a LG HDTV 32" LCD. I am going to be living in an apartment with a couple of my friends. The size of the room I will be putting it in is 12' x 17'.

One thing is, I am a college student, which means I do not have a lot of money. I would like to keep my budget under $500 for the entire surround sound system. The system will be used for watching sports games and movies. Also I am sure we will have party's, so also some [loud] music.

I was not sure if they best rout would be to get a nicer receiver that I would be able to use down the road when I get my own place and get not as good speakers now because of the threat they may get damaged living with 3 other guys at college.

Any suggestions would be appreciated just to get me started on where I should look.

Thanks

MaxL

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Max Levine
3 choices
1-HTIB pro- you get complete surround system now. cons- poor sound quality especially at high volume, poor low bass performance, difficult to impossible to upgrade.

2-the slow road - buying a few pieces now and building the system over time. pros- you get good quality gear that will last, sound good and upgrade easily. cons- could be a year or more before you have a complete system and by the time you do, you'll probably want to upgrade some part or another. keep in mind that speakers are the most important piece sound-wise, with a little care they last a long time and have the greatest affect on the sound you hear. also make sure you get a center that matches your mains which probably means buying them at the same time.