Question regarding cable modems and the X-Box

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ike, Aug 20, 2002.

  1. Ike

    Ike Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since this has more to do with computers, I'll put it in this section, but if this is incorrect, please feel free to move it.

    The room where my X-Box is is detached from my house, in a separate game room with my big screen. Currently, I don't have cable run to this room, but the cable company is coming out in a couple of weeks (apparently they are busy) to run me a line out there.

    While on the phone, I asked her if I'd be able to rent another cable modem (I'm currently renting the one I'm using now from the cable company), and she said that I couldn't, that I'd only be able to network. That's not possible for several reasons.

    I want to hook the X-Box up to Live when it launches in November, but I don't want to have to sacrifice 5.1 and Progressive scan to do it. If I were to buy my own cable modem and use a splitter for this new line, would that work? I didn't understand if she meant that the cable company only rented one modem per house, or if only one modem per house would work without networking?

    All answers are appreciated.
     
  2. Eric Samonte

    Eric Samonte Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1999
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think if u rented another modem, it'd be like getting another line altogether bec. they'll have to give that modem it's own MAC number, IP address, etc.
    I'm also in the same boat as u r. My modem is upstairs and running cat5 down to the HT is not feasible. Since I've got a WiFi thingy, I intend to get an ethernet to wireless converter or adapter (if one's out there that's chep enuff).
    But for u, it maybe simpler. Just get a hub and run cat5 to the Xbox.
     
  3. Randy_T

    Randy_T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use a hub, your computer will have to be running in order to access the internet on the Xbox. I would get a router. You can get a Linksys 4 port router for around $50 onsale at Office Depot. I'll post the link when I find it.

    Randy T
     
  4. Randy_T

    Randy_T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Office Depot has the Linksys Router for $60, but there is a $10 mail-in rebate.
    Linksys Router
     
  5. Andre F

    Andre F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ike,
    Try looking up 'router' under Video Game Hardware and you will find tons of information on the subject. I'm in the same boat, I have various game systems in the living room and a network of four computers in the office. My dileema is whether to run the Cat5 all the way over to the living room (yuck!) or to use Wireless technology. Anyway, here are the plan for both options. Someone should think about doing a FAQ on this topic...
    BTW, don't bother buying another cable modem and splitting the signal. You'll probably degrade the signal and it will cost too much money. Of course, that's my opinion.
    Wired:
    Router (like Randy said, it allows for internet use while the 'main' computer is not on)-->run Cat5 to the living room -->hub-->Cat5 to multiple systems
    Advantages: safe and secure, also fastest option available
    Disdvantages: running the wire...
    Wireless: Wired Router (since I already have one)-->Wireless Router-->Wireless Bridge-->hub-->Cat5 to multiple systems
    Advantages: look ma, no wires!
    Disdvantages: not as secure (without proper configuration), speed not quite as good and can be worse depending on your house (amount of walls blocking signal etc)
    Here are some links to get you started.
    I've used this site many times for networking problems...
    http://www.practicallynetworked.com/
    I use the Cable/DSL and like it a lot. I plan to purchase more of there stuff in the future.
    http://www.linksys.com
    There are other options available like HomePlug and Home PNA (???). One uses standard electrical outlets for a network and the other phone lines. Neither seems to matured yet but it might be worth a look. Have fun!
     
  6. Randy_T

    Randy_T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know much about the Xbox. Does it have a wireless network card option? Or would you have to "hack" the box and install one?

    Nice HT Andre! Is that a Sony KV-36FS13 I see??

    Randy T
     
  7. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Randy, there are wireless adapters you can plug into any ethernet card
     
  8. Andre F

    Andre F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
     

Share This Page