Question on wiring selection

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Shervin, Sep 3, 2003.

1. Shervin

Shervin Agent

Jul 24, 2003

This is my first time actually having a little money and doing a HT system so I have a few questions on wiring.

My first question deals with a subwoofer cable. Will I be fine with something off ebay that is made by acoustic research, RCA, or low end monster or do I need a good brand of wire for this?

Fiber Optic cables- I know I need this for Dolby digital but I never had to use it for pro logic before. Can I buy any brand or do I have to get an expensive one. Do you all have a brand to recommend? I have seen them as cheap as 7 bucks on eBay. I know you get what you pay for but I was curious.

Speaker wire- I already saw posts on this one and bought 14 gauge wire from Home Depot.

When I get the new TV do I need good composite cables? I have seen cheap ones at Wal-Mart for 15 bucks made by RCA.

S-video- same issue, does a high end brand make that big of a deal.

Any help would b great. If this has been covered before can you all point me in the right direction to those forums? I honestly looked but did not find my answers. I think you can tell from my post I don’t need super high end. I just don’t want static and buzzing. I hope you all can answer my questions.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. Chu Gai

Chu Gai Lead Actor

Jun 29, 2001
    sub cable: any shielded cable with copper conductors will work fine. of all the cables out there, the signals going through this cable are anything below about 120 Hz. a pretty easy job. you can also purchase a preterminated video cable that's got F-connectors anywhere...supermarket even, and then go to radio shack and buy some F to RCA adapters. Pretty inexpensive. Otherwise, the choices you mentioned are also fine.