Question on upconverting SD-DVD

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Ronald Epstein, Jul 20, 2006.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I am already a Toshiba HD-DVD owner.

    In a week I hope to have delivered my brand-new DLP HP
    display with HDMI input.

    At that time I will officially be ready to upconvert SD-DVD
    to 1080i. I can't wait, as I have never seen the results of
    doing this.

    Now my question....

    My Toshiba HD-A1 is already default set to 1080i. I know this
    because every time I put in a standard DVD, I get the warning
    message that the player needs to change its resolution to 480.

    With that in mind, once I am connected via HDMI, will the
    player *automatically* upconvert my standard DVDs or is there
    any additional buttons I need to push to make this happen?

    I suppose in the end I'll know if I am actually upconverting
    correctly if the standard DVD is playing and the Toshiba is
    displaying the 1080i text on the front panel......yes?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    33,050
    Likes Received:
    8,104
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    The player will automatically upconvert to 1080I from the HDMI output. The reason why SD DVDs don't upconvert beyond 480P is that the player is setup not to upconvert more than 480P, if you're using the component output.




    Crawdaddy
     
  3. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Crawdaddy,

    Thanks for the reply.

    I already knew the reasons why my SD content was not being
    displayed at 1080i (component), but thanks for pointing that out
    nonetheless.
     
  4. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    33,050
    Likes Received:
    8,104
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I phrase my answer so that those reading this thread that are not in the know and are contemplating buying this player will understand that upconversion beyond 480P only happens through the HDMI output from the player to the display/component HDMI input.




    Crawdaddy
     
  5. rodney_g

    rodney_g Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, thanks, Cawdaddy, for phrasing it that way. I thought that it DID upconvert to 1080i through component. It stinks that it doesn't, since I currently have a 4-yr old 53" Mitsu CRT rearProj TV with component.

    Been considering a 1080p DLP display, so this may be a big reason to get it.
     
  6. Brian_Pete

    Brian_Pete Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ron. Does your Toshiba have the 1.4 firmware upgrade? I know there was an HDMI handshake issue with the new Samsung HLS units and I'm guessing this would be the same with the LED unit that you ordered. (I'm assuming you ordered the LED unit from your previous posts.)

    The good news is that Toshiba fixed the problem with the 1.4 firmware release.
     
  7. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    33,050
    Likes Received:
    8,104
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I'm not Ron, but he didn't order a Samsung LED unit. He has an HP MD6580N DLP display. Also, I'm pretty sure his player needs to be upgraded with the 1.4 firmware.



    Crawdaddy
     
  8. Dave H

    Dave H Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,580
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    9,110

    CRT RPTV do not benefit from upconversion (unless you are trying to make scanlines invisible).
     
  9. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,547
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill
    It may just be the placebo effect, but my upconversion experiments on the Mits RPTV have looked pretty sweet. Granted, I am not planning on reauthoring my entire DVD collection, but if there is something I must see upconverted, component video is not going to hold me back.

    - Steve
     
  10. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Guys,

    Quick question...

    Just received my firmware upgrade disc from Toshiba yesterday.

    1. How do I find out (via the player) what firmware version is
    currently installed.

    2. Do I upgrade the firmware simply by inserting the Toshiba DVD?
     
  11. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    33,050
    Likes Received:
    8,104
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I upgraded mine this morning and it only took 10 minutes or so. There are specific instructions with the disc in the sleeve the disc came in. The only thing you really have to do is make sure the player and television are on insert the disc and the player does the rest. The upgrade process will be completed when the tray opens and the player shuts down. Just take the disc from the tray and turn on the player. If you want to see what version you currently have go to setup then maintenance and click on update before updating.




    Crawdaddy
     
  12. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    18,977
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Does this work through an HDMI connected via adapter to an DVI HDCP port (As with my Sony WEGA)?

    I'm intrigued by the HD DVD players, but still confused about connecting to DVI.
     
  13. Glen C

    Glen C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 1998
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DVI is a non-issue if it's HDCP compiant just get an hdmi/dvi adapter (under $10 at monoprice)
     
  14. Larry Sutliff

    Larry Sutliff Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Dave, I have the Toshiba hooked up to my television with an HDMI to DVI cord. As Glen said, www.monoprice.com has 'em for about 10 bucks shipped.
     
  15. Hank

    Hank Guest

    Just updated my HD-A1 to v1.4

    Ron,

    You are going to be thrilled to death when you see what the HD-A1 can do with SD DVDs upconverted. This is by far the best DVD player I've ever owned! Enjoy your new display!
     
  16. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The World's Fastest Indian with Anthony Hopkins as a Brit or maybe Aussie trying to break the land speed record for motorcycles at Bonneville has no copy protection (Thank you, Mark Cuban) and will upconvert over component.
     
  17. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Gents,

    Just got my first HDMI display.

    I gotta tell yuh -- the upconverting on the HD-A1 is amazing!

    I have never seen standard DVD upconverted before.

    I swear, you would think you were watching High Definition.
    I watched portions of Madagascar last night and it
    looked outstanding!

    The only difference I see in upconverted SD vs. HD-DVD is
    the fact that HD-DVD colors are more vibrant.

    Those of you waiting on your first HDMI display will be amazed
    by the performance of the HD-A1 upconversion.

    I'm in heaven!
     
  18. Elayna Rainwater

    Elayna Rainwater Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The upconversion is amazing looking. My hubby & I were pleasantly surprised by this. [​IMG]
     
  19. Jordan_E

    Jordan_E Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finding Nemo was one of the first DVDs I put on to watch upconverted...and I was blown away!
     
  20. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,547
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill
    Same here on Finding Nemo--incredible.

    - Steve
     

Share This Page