What's new

Question on speeding ticket (1 Viewer)

Pamela

Supporting Actor
I am a licensed California driver. Today, I received a speeding ticket in the state of Delaware. Does that count as points against my CA license? Will my insurance company have access to this info?

Thanks for any answers.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
It won't count against your California standing (it would have if, say, you received the ticket in Arizona). But as for your insurance company, the information is there for the company to find. Question is, would they think to look in Delaware's database?

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Unfortunately, some comments were made in this thread that were not only insensitive but insulting. Any further attempts at such behavior will result in more than just those comments being edited out of this thread.

Crawdaddy

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Pamela,
The Department of Motor Vehicles in California will be notified of your ticket in Delaware. Once that happens, your insurance company will be able to gather that information with full knowledge of the amount of points you accumulated on your record.

Crawdaddy

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
My old NY license was once suspended because of failure to pay a CT ticket. As I was standing on the shoulder contemplating my totaled SUV, wondering how I walked away from such a (reportedly) spectacular rollover without a scratch and what the financial repercussions of crashing a 2 months old $15000 car would be, the pimple-faced officer saw fit to slap me with a ticket, for "Driving too fast under conditions".

--
Holadem

Scott Strang

Screenwriter
Pam
I'm in Louisiana and a class is offered to moving violation offenders that will keep the ticket off of your driving record. One can go before the judge and request to take the Stop class.