What's new

Question on ohms (1 Viewer)

Marc Grennan

Auditioning
I am fairly new to everyone, and I came across a fairly cheap Sony receiver and had a question about it, so here I am.

It's the STR-DH740 and it says " 7.2-channel, 1015W (145W x 7 @ 6 ohms " which is fine and dandy but the speakers I am looking at are 8 ohms. Will the receiver be able to run them or do I need to look for either new speakers/receiver?

Thanks in advance..

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
As long as the receiver/amp can handle *less* than what the speakers are rated at, everything is good. So the receiver can handle 6 ohms, yours are 8 - you're good. Even when the "equation" comes out bad there's some give, as long as you don't crank the amp. The worst case is when the receiver is rated for 8 ohms and the speakers are rated at 4.

By the way, the spec page says is has 4 ohm switching, but I don't see that in the manual. Not that you asked, but I'm also not a fan of Sony receivers; you can probably do better for $300. (Not that this one is a terrible choice.)

FoxyMulder

映画ファン
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
Marc Grennan said:
I am fairly new to everyone, and I came across a fairly cheap Sony receiver and had a question about it, so here I am.

It's the STR-DH740 and it says " 7.2-channel, 1015W (145W x 7 @ 6 ohms " which is fine and dandy but the speakers I am looking at are 8 ohms. Will the receiver be able to run them or do I need to look for either new speakers/receiver?

Thanks in advance..
Don't fall for the marketing BS, they have inflated the wattage numbers there and that's why they say at 6 Ohms as they can put that higher number, it's also probably with 2 channels driven and not all 7, to answer your question though, it will work fine with your speakers.

You can buy it from Amazon with some freebies thrown in at the same price.