Question on LFE cable from receiver to subwoofer

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Joseph Hansen, Apr 19, 2002.

1. Joseph Hansen

Joseph Hansen Stunt Coordinator

Howdy, all;

First off, I am a newbie as far as HT goes, so if you don't want to read a post by someone who is dumber than a brick (I know I am; just ask my wife), stop now.

I recently purchased a powered sub that has an LFE input jack. I also have on the way a new receiver/amplifier with an LFE output (should arrive next week). Okay, everything's great so far.

So, when my receiver arrives, and I go to hook everything up, what exactly do I need to connect these two components to each other?

I don't want to start a cable war here. We all have various opinions on whether or not to use generic vs. name-brand, or A/V cables for component video. I just want to know if I would be correct in using a single audio cable with an RCA plug at both ends. Or is this a bad idea (i.e., impedance mismatch, too light-duty, etc), and do I need to buy a cable specific to this task.

Thank you, one and all. I appreciate any and all help you can send my way.

Joseph

2. jeff morris

jeff morris Agent

I'm using an AR HT-152 sub cable, that I got from accessories4less for like $19, with my new SR600. If your sub has dual inputs, like my Veoldyne, you'll need the Y adapter.
    I use all AR pro cables for everything. They are good cables and don't cost an arm and a leg, like some of the higher priced companies.
    I'm not knocking the high price stuff, I just am trying to keep my costs at a reasonable level and these cables do the job for me.[​IMG]

3. Jeffrey_Jones

Jeffrey_Jones Second Unit

Hello Joseph,