What's new

Question on LCD RPTV (1 Viewer)

Daniel Kikin

Screenwriter
I just bought a Sony 60" LCD RPTV. I'm watching it from about 10-11 feet away, and I notice the pixleation a lot sometimes, even when watching a couple of DVD's from a Sony player that's connected with component inputs. Is this normal for a TV like this?

It depends on your sources. If you have a satelitte, the weather may be effecting the reception. How do you have the source set up? As for the dvd player, is it a progressive scan or analog? How old is it. Sometimes with older dvd players, they "hang up" with newer dvd.

Try a couple of things. One use the best hook ups your source is capable of. Two, buy a good surge protector with cable hook ups. Three, if the dvd player is older or not progressive scan, buy a new one. A decent unit can be picked up for less than 60 dollars.

Geri

Daniel Kikin

Screenwriter
Thanks Geraldine, as big of an entertainment buff that I am, I'm new to setting up an HT, so I hope I don't sound too clueless :)

My cable is definitely not great, it's analog we have reception problems on all our TVs but they look worse on the 60", especially the local sports channels such as YES and MSG. I bouight a monster surge protector with cable hook ups, and my DVD player is a Sony NS715P, which uses progressive scan. The cable also passes throguh a Panasonic PS4623V VCR before going into the TV. The problem is not nearly as noticeable on DVDs, especially once I turned progressive scan on (which I couldn't use on my old TV), so that could be a matter of getting used to an LCD picture as opposed to CRT. It sounds like checking the cable hook ups is probably the best bet though, maybe I'll stop by Radio Shack to try to find better cabling for that too.

Tim Jin

Supporting Actor
Also, try to have the Cable Guy come out and check the signal. Have you tried Digital Cable? Some people say that they get a better picture from digital, even with analog channels.