Question on interconnects

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Harlan, Nov 22, 2002.

1. Harlan

Harlan Agent

Are there any real differences between the differnet type of interconnects or is it marketing?

Example:

1. Line level subwoofer cables and normal audio interconnects
    2. Video interconnects and normal audio interconnects
    3. Coaxial interconnects and normal audio interconnects

Thanks,

Harlan

2. BradJudy

BradJudy Stunt Coordinator

Here's the same response I posted on AVS and see what the response is from this crowd (I want to make sure I understand this correctly too):

Preface - I am speaking in general terms and I'm sure there are cables our there that are exceptions to everything I am saying. Please correct anything wrong I say as I'm not a professional at this.

1. I've heard that some subwoofer interconnects have a cut ground on the sub side to prevent a ground-loop hum. I'm sure not all do. If they don't there is no real difference between them and regular audio interconnects.

2. Video interconnects have to deal with a higher frequencies than audio ones and thus generally require higher quality cables. Additionally, component (and composite?) video cables should have a 75 ohm impedance.

3. (I assume you mean coaxial digital audio cables) Coaxial digital audio cables also should have a 75 ohm impedance. In general coaxial cable is less vulnerable to interference than regular wire.

What I did for all of my interconnects (video, digital audio, analog audio, subwoofer) was to make my own 75 ohm coaxial cables using Canare LV-77 coax and Canare 75 ohm RCA connectors. These meet the needs of video and digital audio, and are more than good enough for analog audio and my subwoofer. It's also nice not to have to worry about cable types when rearranging cables.

3. mike_decock

mike_decock Supporting Actor

IMO, it's mostly marketing. Sometimes better grounding and shielding can make a difference.

-Mike...

4. Rich Malloy