What's new

Question on an Atmos layout (1 Viewer)

Marc K.

Auditioning
Real Name
Marc K.
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to this, and was hoping for some advice.
I'm having a home built, and the builder is allowing me go in before the walls are closed and run low voltage for a home theater. now, when i say home theater, it's nothing like most of the projects on this forum. it's basically a family room where i'm just trying to enhance the sound as much as possible.
so here's my question. the room is an open floor plan, with no wall behind the seating position. just a front wall and one side. so my plan was to go with a 5.1 or 7.1 system with in-ceiling speakers for the surround and rears since in-wall is not an option. I spoke to an AV guy who's telling me to add 2 (preferably 4) atmos speakers in the ceiling as well. i did some research though, and most of what i see indicates that if any of the speakers are already in the ceiling, then atmos speakers are pretty much a waste since the sound is already coming from above.
having said that, what would you guys recommend? am i wasting time and money by adding atmos speakers? unfortunately there is no way to get rear speakers at ear level since my wife will not allow speaker stands in the middle of the room!
Also, since the wife hasn't put a cap on how many speakers i can put in the ceiling, should i go with 5.1 or 7.1. Basically i'm trying to figure out of i should go with 5.1.2, 5.1.4, 7.1.2, or 7.1.4. given the layout.
thank you guys for the help!

DigitalDawn

Agent
Real Name
Dawn Luks
You are correct. You cannot have both "speaker level" and Atmos channels in the ceiling.

Because of the lack of walls in your space you are better off foregoing Atmos and concentrating on 7.1 or 5.1. You can easily install surround channels in the ceiling.

What are your room dimensions (WDH)?

Where were you planning on putting the front channel speakers? Also, what's your speaker budget, including sub(s)?

Marc K.

Auditioning
Real Name