Question on AMD 64 chip and fan

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Andrew Bunk, Dec 13, 2005.

1. Andrew Bunk

Andrew Bunk Screenwriter

I'm building a PC for a friend, which includes an AMD 64 3500+ processor on a DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-D motherboard. Also running a BFG 7800GT video card (just one for now) and a couple of SATA drives.

This is the first time I've worked with an AMD processor, and I've noticed a few times that when I start up the system, the fan over the CPU heatsink is running, but once I get close to loading Windows, it will stop for a while.

According to the hardware monitor software that came with the motherboard, when the PC is relatively idle, the CPU temp is around 26C. That seems pretty cool compared to my P4.

My question is, do AMD chips and/or motherboards manage the CPU fan so it's not running below a certain temperature? Just trying to figure out if I should be wary of this behavior.

Thanks in advance!

2. Joe D

Joe D Supporting Actor

I'm no expert, but I've never heard of a fan shutting down for a CPU, that seems very dangerous. My AMD 3000+ CPU's fan runs all the time at varying speeds.

The AMD CPU should run cooler than a P4. But to have a fan turn off completely sounds like a recipe for meltdown.

3. Andrew Bunk

Andrew Bunk Screenwriter

I'll have to check if there's something in the BIOS thhat might be controlling that. I will say there's a big 120mm fan on the door pointed right at the processor that's always on.

I'm about to put it through stress testing running World Of Warcraft at maxed out graphics for a few hours so I can see how it handles itself. I'll be keeping a close eye on the fan.

4. Christ Reynolds

Christ Reynolds Producer

CJ
    have you actually seen the fan stop, or are you going by the monitoring software?