What's new

Question from the Newbie (1 Viewer)

Chris Wright

Auditioning
I am currently in the process of finishing off my basement
and am planning on purchasing a Home Theater system. My budget is approx. $5000. I am a total rookie and this and thus, brings me to you, seeking your expert opinions. The components that I have given serious thought to, and the method to my madness, are listed below:

Projector: BenQ 8230 Price = $2500 from ProjectorPeople.com
Reasoning - High Lumens, good Contrast Ratio, and has component out, which is what I want to run. Seems like a good "Bang for the buck"
Receiver: Yamaha Rx-V1400 List Price = $799
Reasoning - Have been to 2 local merchants, and they are both pushing this as the one to have
DVD Player: Yamaha DVD-S1200 List Price = $999
Reasoning - Same as Receiver
Speakers: This is where I am struggling the most. I really don't have any idea. I would like to spend no more than $1500 in total.

So based on the information that I have provided above, please advise me as to whether or not I am headed down the correct path, given the budget that I am trying to work within. What would you change and why? Any help on speakers would be a HUGE benefit. Also, any websites that I can utilize to find these items at a great price would be great as well.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and I look forward to any feedback that you can provide.

Sincerely,
Chris Wright

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
Are you looking to build a 5.1, 6.1, or 7.1 system? Just because the local dealers want you to buy a $800 reciever and a $1000 DVD player doesn't mean they'll be the ones you want (or give the best value).

Also: what brands of speakers are locally available for you to demo?

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member