Question: Equalizer set up for reciever!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Christopher Chung, Jul 31, 2001.

1. Christopher Chung

Christopher Chung Stunt Coordinator

Jul 28, 2001
    Okay, this is my very first time posting here. I'm starting to get into the Home Theater scenario, yes I'm a newbie, and just purchased a Sony STR-DE945.
    My question however is that I'm not quite sure where I set the frequency. Adjusting the levels for the bass, treble, and mid range is familiar to me, but how do I go about adjusting the frequency? For the front bass, it can be adjusted from 100Hz to 1.0 kHz; for mid range from 500Hz to 5kHz; and treble from 1.0 kHz to 10 kHz. The same goes for the center, and rear.
    Is this adjustment according to what my speakers can handle (8 ohm Bose fronts, looking to replace) or is it all a matter of preference?
    Thanks to anybody who can shed a little light on this, and sorry if this has been asked before in the forums. Since I'm a newbie, I may be posting a lot more "elementary" questions that may sound dumb, so please bare with me!
  2. Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate Cinematographer

May 23, 1999
    Welcome to the board, and believe me this place is a world of info on HT and stereo applications. I'm not an expert or audiophile like many others here, but I think the answer to your questions lies with you as the listener. What ever sounds the best is what you go by. Like for me I like a little extra bass even in my mains and surrounds eventhough the sub is carrying most of the bass. Play with the EQ, and it will accomplish two things, first you will get the sound you want and second you understand the significance of the settings and how they apply.
    If loving Home Theater is
    wrong, I don't want to be
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Aug 5, 1999
    Try this, Christopher.