Question about Yahoo Companion Toolbar

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Andres Munoz, Sep 22, 2003.

  1. Andres Munoz

    Andres Munoz Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed the Yahoo Companion Toolbar on IE. I can't seem to remove or hide the search text box. I tried the "add/edit buttons" and "change toolbar layout" but there's nothing to hide or remove the search text box.

    Does anyone know how to do this?
     
  2. Eric Kahn

    Eric Kahn Guest

    From what I have been told, the yahoo tool bar is a bad thing to install, it acts as a tracking device and reports information back to yahoo on what you are doing
    it would be best to uninstall it but it might be difficult to do that
     
  3. John Miles

    John Miles Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2000
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Andres Munoz

    Andres Munoz Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have the Google toolbar, which is the only one I use for searching the web.

    I have the Yahoo Toolbar because I have setup buttons to my.yahoo.com account and one click gets me to my yahoo email, maps, yahoo greeting cards and yahoo shopping. Pretty convenient.

    Anyway, any word on how to hide the search text box?
     
  5. Denward

    Denward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My search text box has a little magnifying glass icon next to it. I click on it to hide/show the text box.

    I love the convenience of having my bookmarks conveniently available at home and at the office. I have Spybot Search and Destroy (spyware detector) on my computer and it's never tagged the Companion toolbar as a bad thing.
     
  6. Andres Munoz

    Andres Munoz Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 1999
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Denward, my toolbar at home has the magnifying glass but the one at work doesn't. That's the one I'm having the problem with. I recently installed it. It's version 5.2.3.0. The one at home is an older version (5.0.something).

    Could it be that Yahoo removed the ability to hide the search text box in the new version?
     

Share This Page