What's new

Question about Video Switching (1 Viewer)

Sean Mullin

Agent
Ok here goes..

I'm pretty new to HT and new to this forum as well.

I have a Toshiba 50" projection TV (about three years old) am waiting for the HDTV to come down a bit more before I purchase a new one and move the Tosh to the kids play room

What I want to know is....

The Comp Vid switching of most receivers is something I am in qqustion about.. I've an S-VHS and a Toshiba DVD w/COMPVid output.

when I hook up comp vid from DVD and S-Vid from the VHS will I also have to hook S-vid cable from receiver along with Comp vid cable and just switch source on my TV? or will the receiver "synthesize" S-vid to component for the VHS? Also am gonna add Sat TV soon. So When I pick out my receiver, are there receivers with 4 or 5 comp vid inputs that are priced under 800 bucks?

thanks for bearing with me here.

Sean Mullin

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Sean. Welcome to HTF! :)
I'm afraid the answer is: most receivers will NOT convert one video connection to another.
Here is what I suggest:
- Run SVideo from everything through the receiver, then 1 Svideo to the TV. This makes the system simple/easy to use.
- Run component cables from the DVD player straight to the TV. If you want, you can then switch to this feed for the slightly higher quality picture when watching DVD's.
Another thing: there was a report a year or so ago that said while some receivers offer Component video switching, the receivers did not have enough bandwidth to handle true HD signals.
The more recent receivers now say somthing like "HD switching" or "HD Compatible" to indicate that they have been re-designed for the higher frequency needed for HD. Look for this as you may want it when you get your HDTV.
The November 2002 issue of Sound & Vision has a receiver buying guide with a large grid of features and prices. A quick scan of under $800 receivers that are "HDTV compatible" are:
HK AVR325
Integra DTR 5.3
JVC RX-901VBK