Question about Vas

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Walt Park, Dec 5, 2002.

1. Walt Park

Walt Park Stunt Coordinator

Ok... so I bought a PE 10" titanic kit, and it just kicks my Polk PSW 350's @$$ all over the house. So... I'm thinking... Can I just get another 10" titanic driver and put it in the polk box. (I want to use the Polk, or at least it's box and plate amp in another room)

The titanic kit box is 13x13x12 inside. The Polk box is 14.5X13X12 with 2 ports, (should have measured them last night, but it was getting late). So I was thinking of plugging the ports and putting a 10" titanic in there and maybe filling to change the internal volume to be the same as the dayton kit.

Anyway I was looking at the PE site and looking for possible alternative drivers. I'm new to all this, and was looking at the numbers. Calculating the Dayton kit volume comes to 1.17 cubic feet not excluding any space the driver, plate amp transformer, and the brace volume. The Polk box is 1.31. The Vas for the titanic 2 driver is 1.35 cubic feet. I'm assuming that the 1.17 is calculated for a reason that I lack the knowledge or tools to measure. Is it a fair assumption that I can just use an extra .18 cubic feet of filler in the Polk box, slap a 10" titanic in, and expect a similar sound (assuming I plug the ports)?

How is the ideal volume calculated if the Vas number is not it, and it doesnt include any of the driver or plate amp volume?

2. Javier_Huerta

Javier_Huerta Supporting Actor

Hmmm... you should better make sure the plate amp of the Polk is not correcting for any deficiencies in its driver. I don't think commercial plate amps are flat - they are equalized to suit the particular driver.

3. Will Orth

Will Orth Stunt Coordinator

Vas= Vase minus that water...lol

4. Chris Carswell

Chris Carswell Supporting Actor

Hmmmm........