Question about Toshiba 50H81 service menu and picture modes

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Prentice Cotham, Oct 21, 2003.

  1. Prentice Cotham

    Prentice Cotham Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a question as I am going thru a service issue with my Toshiba 50H81. The TV went out back at the end of July. They replaced a resistor which didn't work so they ordered a new main board. The main board was replaced and the TV looked like crap and I no longer had the Normal, Theaterwide 1,2,3, Full modes. I now had Normal, Letterbox, Compression, Zoom (sounds like 4x3 stuff). Tech adjusted picture in the service mode on Sat but the modes aren't back. I told him I am ready for an exchange since this is getting ridiculous. He's coming this Sat AGAIN and he says he has the adjustments for the TV but he doesn't appear to know whether it will change the modes to the Theaterwide and Full modes. My question is, is this even possible to do within the service menu of the television? I looked up all the abbreviations I could and I saw nothing related to that. It seems like that would be some EPROM on the board controlling that. Hopefully someone out there knows this so I know what to expect. He said if it doesn't, then we'll look at an exchange. Of course, I can always bring up the Toshiba "jailer bars."
     
  2. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    IT sounds like you have a 4:3 board in there rather than one for a 16:9 TV. The main service menu has nothing there to fix this.

    Regards
     
  3. Prentice Cotham

    Prentice Cotham Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I said Michael. The tech said he took the numbers straight off the board from my TV.
     
  4. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    I **think** the TVOP parameters in the service menu control what shape/features are enabled for the TV, but that's just a guess and I've never tried to change or compare those values. I'm curious to know what the result here is, so please let us know!
     
  5. Prentice Cotham

    Prentice Cotham Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's an update...tech came out and adjusted the OPT1 and OPT2 but no dice. So, I am exchanging the TV. Depending on the credit, I may go for the Sony Grand Wega.
     
  6. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think there's more to it than just changing the TVOP values though, because I've tried that before. Must be some kind of secret handshake!
     
  7. Prentice Cotham

    Prentice Cotham Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the TVOP stuff before he was here, but it didn't do anything. Oh well, I exchanged for the 50" Grand Wega. I am very pleased.
     

Share This Page