Question about TiVo...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Patrick Mallon, Oct 2, 2001.

  1. Patrick Mallon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can the dial in time be manually set? If I buy a TiVo unit, the room it will be placed in does not have a phone jack and I don't want to pay for another phone line. I can run a long RJ-11 to the phone in the next room; however, I don't want to leave that line out all day. Can this be done when I set up the line. Thanks.
     
  2. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't set the time for the call, but you can manually force a call whenever you want.
    ------------------
    "The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
    bitch about movies and share pornography."
     
  3. Bob Jackson

    Bob Jackson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It tends to call in about every 25 hours once it is set up and running (but skips primetime).
    So you can hook it up and force the call or hook it up overnight.
    You can also buy RCA RC930 or Phonex PX-441 'wireless' phone jacks that plug into your wall power outlets that add a phone line. They run $45-$70 dollars and I picked up a set for $35 shipped on eBay.
     
  4. Patrick Mallon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. Now, does anyone know the current best deal on a TiVo?
     
  5. Jake Gove

    Jake Gove Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Patrick Mallon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was checking out the Philips 30-Hour DSR6000 DirecTiVo units on sale at Circuit City. I have cable and am not interested in Direct TV (yet). Can I hook this unit up to my cable tv system and not use the Direct TV part of the receiver?
     
  7. David_Bl

    David_Bl Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You would not be able to use the DirectTivo with your cable TV. You would need a standalone Tivo unit for that.
    The DirectTivo does not have a tuner onboard-- it records the MPEG stream directly to the hard drive. It can handle the Sat signal, but not the cable.
    David
     
  8. Randy Tennison

    Randy Tennison Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1999
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Randy
    Best deal on TIVO I found is at TIVO's website
    http://www.tivo.com/order/
    $249.99 for a 30 hour Phillips unit, shipping included.
    They got it to me in 3 days. Excellent!
    ------------------
    Randy Tennison
    Kansas City, MO
    Home theater photos located at
    http://home.kc.rr.com/thetennisons/
    [Edited last by Randy Tennison on October 05, 2001 at 02:36 PM]
     
  9. Patrick Mallon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone have info on the Sony SVR 2000? Is it considered a good unit?
     
  10. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
     
  11. Patrick Mallon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I buy a second unit, do I have to buy a second subscription? Or is there a way to make the second unit appear to be the first unit. I'm only asking because I saw 2 "open box" units over the weekend. For the price, it would be worth buying both.
     
  12. Mike Lang

    Mike Lang Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Multiple standalone units require seperate subscriptions. Directv/TiVo combos only require the $5/mo DTV fee and have dual tuners inside (2 of these would allow you to record 4 shows at the same time).
     
  13. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. Mike Lang

    Mike Lang Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Replacing a standard DTV receiver won't work until you buy another DTiVo...
    Buy 1 DTiVo and pay for the service.
    Any additional DTiVo's you add are only $5/mo.
     
  15. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What if I have a DirecTV receiver, cable, and standalone TiVo upstairs (for recording locals and satellite), and just a DirecTiVo (for recording satellite only) downstairs?
    Am I now paying the $5 extra receiver charge, plus the $9.95 TiVo charge (twice. Once for each TiVo)?
    ------------------
    "The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
    bitch about movies and share pornography."
     
  16. Mike Lang

    Mike Lang Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1 combo + 1 standalone requires 2 seperate TiVo subs. If you buy a 2nd combo, you don't pay for another TiVo sub, just the $5 DTV fee.
    ------------------
    Moderator, AVS TiVo Forum
     
  17. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah... gotcha. Thanks. [​IMG]
    ------------------
    "The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
    bitch about movies and share pornography."
     
  18. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Steven Simon
    I just got the Sony Tivo Box with AC-3 Out and Dual Tuners....
    399 with a 200 rebate....
    199 Final Cost!!!
    Why did I wait this long for a TIVO!!!
    ------------------
    Thanks,
    Steven R. Simon
    HTF Administrator
    Theater Pics Updated 9-11-2001
    Send Email:
    [email protected]
     
  19. Patrick Mallon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 1999
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you let me know where you got this deal? Thanks!
     
  20. James_A

    James_A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The best deal for a DirecTivo is probably at Circuit City, where you can get a Phillips DSR6000R for $99. They probably won't have them out, but you can get your local sales associate to look up in their computer system for a store that would have it. I know that when I got mine a week ago in Danbury, CT, they had 20 left in stock (and I can't think that they sold 20 in a week, but maybe at that price). Anyway, you can also get the deal off of CC's webpage but to get it, try a search for Phillips products.
    Hope that helps,
    Jim
    ------------------
    [email protected]
    Want to hold up a bank in Latin?
    "Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam."
    (I have a catapult. Give me all the money, or I will fling an enormous rock at your head.)
     

Share This Page