What's new

Question about the 2009 Star Trek and Star Trek Into Darkness iTunes files and downloads (1 Viewer)

Nelson Au

Senior HTF Member
Hey guys-

I’m a sort of newbie to digital downloads. I’ve been using iTunes for almost as long as it’s been out. Long time. But I never or rarely bought any media on iTunes. I rip my own CDs with iTunes using ALAC. And for TV and movies, I made my own copies from the DVDs and placed them into iTunes.

So I took the plunge last week and bought War of the Worlds (1953) as it looks like the best bet for now for an HD version. And it’s nice to read that iTunes allows me to stream the 4K version.

So that got me curious, to check my downloads of two movies. I had tried the codes a couple of years ago for the 2009 Star Trek and Star Trek Into Darkness blu rays and I managed to download them. I tested these last weekend to see if they still worked as they are sitting in my iTunes library. At the time, I wanted to check before the codes became invalid and get those movies while I could. I never fully played them, just watched enough to see they worked.

In checking iTunes, I appear to only have the SD version of Star Trek 2009 and I think the HD version of Star Trek Into Darkness. I was not able to get the HD version of Star Trek 2009 to download and from reading the threads here, iTunes won’t let you. You have to pay to upgrade to HD. I’m checking with all you fine experts if that’s the case. I actually also sent a request to Paramount because I tried to use the code on the Star Trek 2008 Blu Ray the other night to see if it would let me download the HD version but the code is invalid. There was a link to Paramount I used for lost or invalid codes. I entered my info and got an email today to send proof of purchase and UPC code. So I’ll do that tonight. I’m guessing this might not allow me to get the HD. Anyone try this? But I guess I’ll see what happens with Paramount.