1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Question about switcher boxes for multiple component inputs....

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Daniel Becker, Jan 14, 2003.

  1. Daniel Becker

    Daniel Becker Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got several component sources I would like to hook up to my 24" Wega. However, I don't want to suffer any noticable loss in image quality. I've seen these cheap switcher boxes for $20-40. My question is this:


    If I buy a rather inexpensive switcher box will I likely notice any loss in image quality? Keep in mind that my tv is non progressive. Thanks.



    Dan.b
     
  2. Daniel Becker

    Daniel Becker Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't anyone have an answer for me? [​IMG]
    Thanks.
    Dan.b
     
  3. Daniel Becker

    Daniel Becker Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump
     
  4. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Component switchers are in the $150 to $200 range. Not in the price range you are looking at.

    There are cheap recoton 4 to 1 units for about $30 to $40 though. Degradation is inconsequential given your size of display.

    regards
     
  5. Mike Hamilton

    Mike Hamilton Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you want zero deleterious effects, you need to investigate products from companies such as Extron or Key Digital. As a rule of thumb, you would want buffered outputs and bandwidth at least 10 times the highest frequency that you are intending to pass to avoid clipping.
     

Share This Page