What's new

Question about Subwoofer RCA / Speaker Level Input (1 Viewer)

KenKusan

Grip
Hi, I'm new to this HT stuff. Here's my question and situation:

I have a sub that has 2 RCA(Red + White) Input/Output and 2 Speaker Level(Red+Black + Red+Black) Input/Output.
My receiver has no RCA subwoofer out. It only has a subwoofer speaker wire out.

Is it okay to connect to the Subwoofer by using the Subwoofer Speaker wire out from the receiver to the RCA Subwoofer input?
or
Is it okay to connect to the Subwoofer by using the Subwoofer Speaker wire out from the receiver to the Speaker Level Input on the Sub just by connecting to one of the Speaker Level input?(There are 2 which is used for the 2 front speakers, but I'm only using one of them).

I dont want to connect both speaker L+R from the receiver to the Sub then back to the front speakers from the Sub. That's why I'm asking this question.

Thank You!

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III
What kind of receiver do you have? "subwoofer speaker wire out" sounds like something that would be used to power a passive sub (aka a sub that doesn't have it's own power supply).

KenKusan

Grip
I bought a HT package which came with 5 sats and a passive sub. I replaced the original sub with a powered sub.

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III
I'd "connect to the Subwoofer by using the Subwoofer Speaker wire out from the receiver to the Speaker Level Input on the Sub"

KenKusan

Grip
Would there be any down side or negative effects to set it up this way?
If there are, I will go with the front speakers way... even though I dont want to...

Thanks!

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III
It's impossible to say for sure without hooking it up but I think connecting the sub speaker wire out to the speaker level on the sub will work just fine. If it doesn't sound right try something else like l & r speaker outputs to the speaker level in on the sub.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member