What's new

Question about storing DVDs horitzontally (1 Viewer)

I found this question on another board (no responses yet) and I was wondering the same thing, so I'm posting it here:

Most of my DVD cases (and thus DVDs) are stored horizontally, but I heard that this method of storage isn't as safe and may lead to DVD rot. Any truth to that? Is vertical really the best way to go or does it not matter?

Jean D

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jean D
dvd rot huh? sounds like a chemical deterioration. doubtful gravity has any effect on that. so I doubt that vertical or horizontal has an effect. probably has to do with room temperature and humidity more so than anything else, but Im no expert. just putting in my 2 cents.

Rob Gardiner

Senior HTF Member
Gravity CAN cause discs to warp slightly, over time. (I wouldn't call that "rot".) Vertical storage is the way to go.

Vader

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Derek
Bobby,

The term "DVD rot" is a holdover from the days of LaserDisc, and is largely overblown (IMHO), though it does exist in isolated incidents (completely different phenomenon, however). Horizontal storage of LaserDiscs would cause warpage over time due to their large size, and hence, mass. Under normal temperatures, there is insufficient mass for a DVD to warp due to the earth's gravitational pull (assuming it is in it's case, isolated from its neighbors). The same goes for CDs. I have always stored my DVD/CD library this way, and have never had a problem (of course, the LDs are vertical). More of my take on this issue can be found here:

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=197510

Hope this helps!

Peace... Derek

Sebastian_A

Stunt Coordinator
Just like CDs, DVDs are supposed to be stored vertically - besides it being more convenient, it also prevents the dye from destroying your precious titles.

Go Vertical! :emoji_thumbsup:

S

Sebastian_A

Stunt Coordinator
Hey Derek,