Question about Sharpness setting...

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Brett_M, Jan 30, 2006.

  1. Brett_M

    Brett_M Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mos Eisley Spaceport
    Real Name:
    Brett Meyer
    I'm using a Sony 51" rear projection HDTV. When calibrating my screen using the Sharpness control, I see no change in the sharpness level.

    Is there a general rule as to how high or low it should be set?

    Should I set it when viewing a scene from a flick instead of a calibration screen from Avia or THX Optimizer?

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What source resolution is it running at?


    A fair amount of displays won't adjust sharpness on HD resolutions, especially digital video connections.
     
  3. Brett_M

    Brett_M Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mos Eisley Spaceport
    Real Name:
    Brett Meyer
    It is component video from a progressive scan DVD player -- 480p.

    I am getting an Oppo DV971H in 2 weeks and will use DVI with that -- 1080i.

    Suggestions?
     
  4. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the setting work on any source?
     
  5. TheBat

    TheBat Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 1999
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    Jacob
    I would set the sharpness to 0.

    JACOB
     
  6. Brett_M

    Brett_M Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mos Eisley Spaceport
    Real Name:
    Brett Meyer
    I do not see a change in sharpness when viewing a HD TV broadcast or a DVD.
     
  7. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. Can you send it 480i via you DVD player over the same component connections? Some DVD players will not let you do this.


    I have not seen it in years, but some older displays stil would not allow not adjust sharpness even on 480p input.


    My whole point is, maybe it is not adjusting any sharpness at all whatsoever on any input at all. And this could indicate malfunction of the circuit.
     

Share This Page