Question about possible DIY sub project

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by EarleD, Mar 5, 2001.

1. EarleD

EarleD Supporting Actor

I have been toying with the idea of using my pair of SVS 20-39's with a X-30 crossover and using them in stereo. I currently have a pair of Klipsch KG4.2 as my mains which seem to start rolling off at about 50hz. These are powered by an B&K 4420 amp(225watt/channel). The receiver powers the other 3 speakers. I would split the main preamp outs on my receiver(Denon3200) one set to the B&K and one set to the X-30 and then to the Fidek amp powering the sub. I would then set the Xover on the X-30 to about 50hz. I would also set the fronts to large. This should give me true full range mains.
    Then I want to build a monster sonosub for the LFE channel. Something that will make your ears and nose bleed I am thinking along the lines on 30" diameter tube maybe 5 feet long. Maybe 2 15" drivers, unsure about types, I'm kind of new to the DIY area of HT. Any suggestions? This sub would not be used for music listening only HT.
    I have read about the programs which tell you about the port length, tuning freq, etc. But I'm not very fluent in these type of deals, so if someone can run numbers for me it would be appreciated.
    Budget would be around $1000 with amp.
    Any ideas/suggestions/thoughts?
    Thanks
    Earle
    ------------------

2. Kyle Richardson

Kyle Richardson Screenwriter

With that kind of a budget you could get a couple of Adire 15" Tempests or the new 18" Maelstrom and a nice quality professional amp like a Crest and be under a grand. Go to http://www.adireaudio.com/software.htm and download the lspCAD. It already has the numbers input for the Tempest so you can play around with enclosure volumes until you find one you like.
    2 Tempests with a 695L enclosure tuned to about 19hz would sound mighty fine!
    ------------------