Question about one of my guilty pleasures--Friday the 13th

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom-G, Feb 16, 2002.

1. Tom-G

Tom-G Screenwriter

I realize that Paramount has released the first six Friday the 13th films on DVD, but is there any word on whether or not we will ever get special editions of each film, maybe even a box set special edition?

Also, I thought New Line had acquired the rights to Friday the 13th, but I presume it's only the theatrical not home video rights?

I just finished watching all of the Friday the 13th films, and I have been considering purchasing all of them on DVD, but I would rather wait to see if a box set is in the works.

2. Adam_WM

Adam_WM Screenwriter

I'm no expert, but from all the different sites I've read, we'll never see Friday the 13th series how fans want to see them. There probably won't be a box set because one of them (I don't know which one) isn't on DVD because of legal issues or something. Plus, everyone wants them uncut and we all know that will never happen. Who knows if the negatives with the uncut footage are even in working condition.

But as I said, I'm no expert, so if anyone knows more, please chime in.

3. Raymond Johnson

Raymond Johnson Stunt Coordinator

Paraount could release a box set of 1-8 since they own them,while New Line owns Jason Goes to Hell & Jason X + any further films they make,if at all. If both studios could reach an agreement...then a complete set could be released,but don't hold your breath.
    On the topic of the censored footage throughout the entire series.....