What's new

Question about Laserdiscs (1 Viewer)

AaronMan

Second Unit
Real Name
Aaron
I bought a laserdisc player about three years ago (talk about getting in on the end of something!) mainly for the awesome MGM/Warner Brothers animation box sets. Now I know that laserdisc is quite different from DVD, and I know about laser rot. My question is, just buy watching them a lot, can laserdiscs deteriorate like VHS? I mean, it is analog, right?

Since it is pretty much a dead format and most titles are out of print, I handle my laserdiscs like they are precious artifacts! I'm extremely scared of ruining them, and almost scared to watch them.

StephenA

Screenwriter
I'm not too technically knowledgable, but I don't think they deteriorate like VHS. I think it's due to the player using a laser to read the disc, so there's no contact with anything, so there's no heavy wear and tear, like there is with any tape format.

Dennis Nicholls

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dennis
The laser beam doesn't "touch" the surface, neither does anything else. Laserdisks may go bad from internal corrosion but not from wear. In other words, they potentially may go bad from age but not from "mileage".

Adam Barratt

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Adam
LaserDisc is an optical format, meaning there is no physical contact with the read-device and therefore no wear: the fact that it's analogue isn't a factor (DVHS and DAT are both digital, but both will eventually wear being tape-based).

Tape-based systems' read-devices actually touch the recording surface, leading to wear: this doesn't happen with LaserDiscs as they are read by laser.

Handling LaserDiscs won't lead to wear either, but like any optical medium they should be handled with care to avoid damage to the playing surface. LaserDiscs are large, so dropping one on a hard surface could damage it; as could exposure to heat. Other than that, they're quite resilient.

Adam

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rachael Bellomy