What's new

Question about how speaker stands work... (1 Viewer)

tom_furman

Stunt Coordinator
no this isnt about acoustics, etc..i need to know how they work!
more precisely...i'm tired of looking for stands that are tall enough for my 16lb 8 x 10 bookshelf surround speakers, all the ones i can find are either too short, or when they are tall enough they cant hold my size speakers!
soo...seeing as though i'm a draftsman in a steel fab shop i'll have the guys downstairs fabricate me a set. but what i need to know from you guys is..
how do the stands i see online "hide" the wire...is there just a hole in top of one of the support tubes and then a hole at the the bottom?
and how are the stands fillable with sand? does the top plate come off so i can just pour sand down?
also how long are the spikes at the bottom? 1/2"? 3/4"?
any pics would be greatly appreciated..thanks, tom
[Edited last by tom_furman on July 30, 2001 at 09:51 AM]

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
i'm no stand expert, but for most of the stands i've seen:
1. the wire is usually either hidden inside the post. a hole is drilled on the top and bottom plate. you can then channel the wire through the top, inside the post, and out the bottom. some stands also have a small tube at the back of the post that you can route the wire thorugh.
2. the stands usually have a removable top plate. this allows you to pour the sand or lead shot into the post.
3. i'm not sure about the spike length. most of them are adjustable, using a theaded shaft at the end of the spike.
hope this helps...
------------------
You step in the stream,
But the water has moved on.
This page is not here.

Eric S

Agent