Question About DVD/Receiver Combo (Need Help..New)

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by JayMartin, Jul 28, 2005.

1. JayMartin

JayMartin Auditioning

Hi
    I'm quite new to the whole home theatre world and am looking into purchasing one for school...which i would be using it for watching tv, dvds and playing xbox/playstation 2 etc

Ive heard that if you buy a system with a dvd player/receiver combo...you will not get the full amount of sound that you would normally get from a receiver with that amount of power

For example...if the system has a total power of 600W, would that mean you would only get say 400W of power output to the speakers? Is that only if you are using the DVD player to watch DVDs and it wouldnt affect the sound for television and/or xbox games?

Any help would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

2. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter

Welcome to the forum, bro!

I don't know if there is a mechanical explanation for what you are suggesting. I wouldn't think so, as dvd players use almost no power to play dvds. What I think is more likely is that dvd/receiver combos are usually of lesser quality than separate components. Also, manufacturers play with their wattage ratings, so an all in one system bragging about 600 total watts is probably not likely to produce the same power as a stand alone receiver of good quality with the same wattage rating.