Question about Dish TV access cards

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Art Martinez, Dec 31, 2002.

  1. Art Martinez

    Art Martinez Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all, and a Happy New Year to you. This is going to sound more like a story then a question, but here goes. I just bought a "condo", my first home purchase, yea for me. Anyway, one of the first things I want to do is get a Dish Network system. I have been without cable for about 2 years after I had some problems with the local cable company.

    Anyway, I have a one bedroom "condo", as I am single, but I would like to get a 2 receiver set-up. One for the living room, and one for the bedroom. But I don't want to pay to activate 2 access cards. Is it possible to buy a two receiver set up and only activate one card and swap it out when I go from one room to another. Or can I buy a one receiver set up with a duel LNB, activate it, then buy a separate receiver, hook it up, and swap the cards out that way?

    My intent is not to try and screw Dish Network out of money and I know it is only about $6 to activate a second card, but I would hate to pay that extra money when it is just me, and I will not be watching both TV's at the same time. I know that another alternative is to buy one of those room to room set ups, where you point the remote at a box that delivers the signal to the receiver in the other room, but again, I would just like to have a receiver in both rooms.

    Thank you in advance, for any comments of concerns you might have with my issue. I talked to a couple of people, and they seem to think I can probably swap out cards, but I knew that there would be someone more informative than I am about the subject here at the HTF. Thanks again, and Happy New Year!

    Art
     
  2. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure the cards are mated to the specific receiver it's in.

    A better work-around would be to run the second output of one receiver to your second TV. You can control that receiver from another room with an RF remote.
     
  3. Vin

    Vin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Art Martinez

    Art Martinez Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vin and Ken,

    Thanks for the info guys, I really appreciate it. I think that I will get the remote extender. I want to get my dish hooked up next week so I was wanting to get as much info as I could right away.

    Thanks again, and Happy New Year.
     

Share This Page