What's new

Question about cables - newbie here (1 Viewer)

okay, i hear a lot of people using these high quality connector cable RCAs and stuff and high quality 8g speaker wire. i have pretty small wire to my speakers and i have radioshack brand RCAs. would getting more expensive ones make a big difference in sound quality or is it just all hype? what's the difference between the expensive ones and radioshack ones. and how much do "good" ones go for? are they really expensive or what? i wanna know if they make a big enough difference for me to want to care. thanks

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
Depends on:
* What kind of speaker wire you're using now
* What kind you plan to upgrade to
* What source/amplification/speakers you use
* How much of an ear you have for picking out details
For instance, if you're using decent speakers (around a few hundred dollars a pair) with a comparable amp and 22 or 24 gauge zip cord with 20 ft runs to the speakers, then yes, upgrading to even the 12 gauge speaker cable that is available for less than $1/ft will give you very noticable improvements. From there, upgrading further to $100/ft speaker wire will probably produce little to no improvement, and will definitely not yeild 100 times the improvement. The law of diminishing returns kicks in pretty quickly somewhere around here.
As a rough guideline, for an average system, don't spend more than 10% of your total budget on interconnects/speaker wire. If you have more money than that to spare, you would probably have been better off spending that on better amps or speakers in the first place.

John-D

Stunt Coordinator
thanks
you're welcome
wink.gif

------------------
The things we own end up owning us

what about rca cables?
do better ones make a good difference or is it just kind of a "u need THIS to have a high end system!" kind of thing?

Chauncey_G

Second Unit