What's new

Q re: BEATLES films aspect ratios (1 Viewer)

Rob LoVerde

Agent
Real Name
Rob LoVerde
Hello all and Happy Holidays,

Can anyone here clarify for me what are the correct aspect ratios for:

A Hard Day's Night
Help!
Let It Be

?

It appears, at least judging from the DVD, that Yellow Submarine is 1.66:1. I don't know what the offered screen formats have been for the various DVDs of the first two films, and I know that Let It Be hasn't ever been on a digital home video format, but I'm curious what it was projected at in theaters.

Anyone who can provide any information will be sent last night's holiday party leftovers. ;^)

pitchman

Screenwriter
Real Name
Gary
I am no expert, but IIRC, A Hard Day's Night may have been shot Academy ratio 1.37:1 but framed for 1.66:1 projection, which is how it was presented on the old Criterion LaserDisc.

Wayne_j

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
IMDB lists the restored ratio for A Hard Day's Night as 1.66:1 and the intended ratio as 1.75:1.

Help! as 1.75:1.

Let it Be as 1.37:1 as it was shot in 16MM.

David Wilkins

Supporting Actor
I would love to have 'Yellow Submarine' in BD. I wonder how much restoration would be needed for a top notch BD transfer. In the scope of possible releases, we might wait a long time for this one.

lukejosephchung

Screenwriter
Real Name
Luke J. Chung
"Yellow Submarine" was restored for both theatrical and DVD release back in 1999. The picture was cleaned up and stored on a hi-def digital transfer back then, so it shouldn't take too long for them to release it... if the surviving Beatles and their widows ever get around to it!!!:frowning: It's corporate inertia and bureacratic mentality that's basically holding back The Beatles LLP from releasing the items we want out there on the hi-def consumer market!:angry:

Joseph Bolus

Senior HTF Member