What's new

PVC Pipe as a Speaker Wire Insulator (1 Viewer)

Mike H Wizard

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the whole Home Theater Experience and I am wondering if PVC Pipe (the white or gray plastic type pipe) works well as an insulator against power wire. Meaning running Speaker Wire through it.

Th reason I'm asking is because my Wife and I are building a townhome and I want to put speaker wire in the cieling before the sheet rock goes up for my surround speakers...

Any suggestions or tips are welcome, I need all the help I can get, I tried doing a search about this but I did not find any info pertaining to this...

Thank you in advance for all of your help,

Mike

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Mike. Welcome to HTF!
First, there is a separate "HT Construction & Interiors" fourm that specalizes in your type of question. You might browse there for room advice.
But since we are here...:)
No, running speaker wire through PVC pipe wont help. You are trying to avoid picking up 60 hz humm in your speaker wires. The PVC plastic AFAIK does not provide electromagnetic shielding.
Just try to run the speaker wire several feet away from power wires. If you must cross them, try to do it at 90 degrees.
When you run wire, run extra. Make sure to run 3 sets of wire to the rear for that rear-center speaker that is becoming popular.
You might also consider running RG6 CATV coax to the rear to drive bass shakers/tactile transducers attached to your couch later.
Locate the corner of the room with the 2 longest, un-broken walls. This is where you will want to put your sub. Run some RG6 coax here.
Would you ever consider doing a ceiling-mount projector? If so, you should:
- Run power to the ceiling
- Run some 3-conductor High Def capable video cables to the ceiling
- Run a SVideo cable to the ceiling.
Some other suggestions: