Puzzled about Upconverting DVD Player

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by jasm, May 10, 2006.

  1. jasm

    jasm Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen a few Upconverting HDMI DVD Players about. I' have also seen Upconverting receivers now too.
    Do the receivers do the same thing the dvd's do?
    What would happen if you hooked an upconverting DVD player to an upconverting receiver? Would it up convert it twice?
    ty
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    No. Once it is at that resolution, there is nothing to upconvert. While I'm sure both are doing the same thing, my guess is a receiver isn't going to do as good a job as a decent upconverting player.
     
  3. Inspector Hammer!

    Inspector Hammer! Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Messages:
    11,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Real Name:
    John Williamson

    Agreed. I also try never to route my video through another device if I can avoid it, a straight feed to the monitor is always recommended.
     
  4. jasm

    jasm Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The salesman to-day tells me you must use HDMI for upconverting, The dvd player I looked at had hdmi and componant video. My tv is componant only.
    Is this right?
    wont the upconverting work with my system??
    ty
     
  5. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very few players upconvert over component. Most use DVI or HDMI, since it can be encrypted. Something about licensing terms.
     
  6. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Yep, you'll have to find out if that player specifically is capable of upconverting via component, which as Jeremey mentioned, most do not.

    Note also that the term "upconvert" on some receivers is used incorrectly, where most only transcode, or take the signal from other types of connections (s-vid, component, etc...) and take it to DVI/HDMI. There is no actual upconversion of the video.
     

Share This Page