1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

Purchasing my first reciever

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by ChrisT, Nov 29, 2004.

1. ChrisT

ChrisT Auditioning

Hello, I'm a highschool student and I've been searching around for a reliable low-end receiver. I currently have a make-shift 6.1 setup running off a 5.1 Sony minisystem; it's not pretty. I have multiple speakers in the stronger channels since the wattage on a few of them is extremely weak. I know the under-wattage is slowly killing my speakers at high volumes so it's time for a real receiver.

I've been looking at the Kenwood VR-806, mostly because it offers ProLogic IIx and there is quite a price jump between that and other receivers with that same feature. I'm still in school and have an extremely limited bugdet (staying at or around $200 is the goal here). I mostly listen to music (primarily rock, metal, and jazz) however I would like to have something to accent the occasional anime/movie showing. I really like this Kenwood, so I was wondering if there is something particularly bad about the model and/or why it's so much cheaper than other receivers with similar features (i.e. the Pioneer VSX-D814K).

2. JohnCZ

JohnCZ Stunt Coordinator

Chris,

There are many reasons for the price difference. Quality of the parts is one reason. Different receivers produce different sound. The reproduction quality of the ProLogics & DTS is also an issue. Watts/channel is also a issue. You can Google real-world tests and see that many low-end recievers are not even close to their own stats. It gets even worse when you start adding more channels.

In retrospect, I too grew up on Kenwood products and loved them. It maybe fine for what you want it to do. If your going to blow something up, it's better that its $200. Its like computers, you don't learn till you blow it up.