PS2 online help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave Cukina, Aug 29, 2002.

  1. Dave Cukina

    Dave Cukina Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I picked up the adapter and socom last night but I spent over an hour trying to get connected and I just couldn't do it. My pc is connected using a netgear router and my isp is rogers high speed. The internet works fine but the ps2 won't connect to it so if anybody has any suggestions or tips it would be greatly appreciated.
    I was also thinking that there are probably a few other people out here that are having problems so maybe we can create a thread for troubleshooting and hopefully soon enough we'll all get the chance to play online

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,644
    Likes Received:
    105
    First of all, do you have DSL or Cable? Did you go through the setup disc? Do you use PPPoE?
     
  3. ChristopherS

    ChristopherS Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dave,

    There is an ongoing thread in the Hardware forum about connecting the XBOX to the Internet. The same information will apply to the PS2 (using broadband only!).

    I do suspect that your problem is that your router, which has firewall capabilities, is blocking the PS2 from reaching the Internet. Go through the NetGear's owners manual and see how to give your PS2 Internet Permission (you will have to manually open certain ports). It is actually quite simple once you start. If this does not work go to the thread I mentioned in the hardware forum.

    Good luck,

    Chris
     
  4. Dave Cukina

    Dave Cukina Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the help I'll see if it works, if not I'll start reading all the threads...it seems there are a lot of canadians having problems connecting
     
  5. Dave Cukina

    Dave Cukina Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I think I've exhausted all possibilities and I still can't get connected..Why does Rogers cable have to suck so bad???[​IMG]
    If anyone out here has a solution then please let me know
    thanks
    Dave
    my internet connection is through a rp114 router both my pc's work fine, I also read something about freeing up some ports but I don't know which ones????
     

Share This Page