PR's and ports in the same enclosure!?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Magnus Lindqvist, Sep 13, 2001.

  1. Magnus Lindqvist

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I saw this (it's the studio series)and got curious.
    Isn't the basic idea with PR's to avoid VERY long ports or(and) compression?
    The ports are on the bottom with just an inch of clearance,it seems to me to be just a gimmick, what do you think?
    ------------------
    /Magnus Lindqvist.
    The "Finish Fetish" guy!
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,763
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
  3. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't imagine how that even works unless they operate like multiple vents with different tuning points. The PRs must be about 5" across, so I'd think they'd be tuned high, with the vents covering the bottom. Just guessing.
    This subwoofer appears to use the same PE 300-793 remote control amplifier I ordered on sale. Wonder how much it costs?
     
  4. Magnus Lindqvist

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jack,this seems to be a popular amp,found this.
    It costs about 500$ in sweden.
     
  5. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page