What's new

Proposed noise legislation in TX (1 Viewer)

Robert_Z

Screenwriter
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/ Go here then enter HB 223 in the search window.

This is for the fellow Texas folks on this board. I have limited experience with a sound level meter, so I am not sure how loud 65dB really is. But my initial reaction is that a maximum of 65 dB is overly restrictive, especially for those of us with HTs. Currently, in regard to disorderly conduct, the Texas penal code says "a noise is presumed to be unreasonable if the noise exceeds a decibel level of 85 after the person making the noise receives notice from a magistrate or peace officer that the noise is a public nuisance."

So the proposed legislation seems to be dropping acceptable noise levels from 85dBs to 65dBs. Correct? If so, and if you are against this as a home theater enthusiast, you may consider contacting your legislators to oppose this bill. http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/fyi/fyi.htm.

(The rest of this is my own story regarding noise and disturbing others.)

For people whose HT is in a house, rather than a duplex/condo/apartment, this may not really matter. But if you have to share a wall/floor/ceiling with anyone, this may be of particular interest. I currently live in a duplex with no common walls (carport and utility room in between), but our attics are connected, so we can hear each other when we crank it up. Fortunately, my neighbor is easy-going like me, so when he plays his loud, I can hear it but don't complain, and vice versa.