What's new

Proper/Best Wiring ? (1 Viewer)

Josh Duve

Grip
I am new to the Home Theater scene and was looking for some help on the best way to wire your systems.
ie.. optical, s-video, component etc..
I am also confused about wiring my satellite through s-video.
If someone could send a link or maybe an older post, to spare someone writing a long post explaining it.
Thanks,
Hat

EddieN

Agent
Okie Dokie Josh, let's see if I can do a good job at explaining this.
Component (Y,Pb,Pr) - this is the best kind of hookup, usually found on dvd players and some High Definition (HD) satellite boxes. You need this type of hookup to get a progressive signal to your set.
S-Video - pretty good hookup, not as good as component, but it seperates the luminance channel (the one that carries brightness and contrast) from the color channel, which is good. This hookup can be found on "Digital" cable boxes, VCRs, DVD players and pretty mush all satellite boxes.
Composite / RF - Blah, one RCA cable used to carry video. One Coax cable used for video and sound.
Good so far ? hope so ....
Now, hooking it up isn't too difficult. Let's get some info from ya and go on from there, post what kind of TV you have Model and Make (Toshiba 40H80), also what type of satellite box you have (RCA DRD420RE), and if you have a Receiver post that too (Sony STR-DE845) and anything else you might have, also list what kind of cables you have.
------------------
- Eddie

Josh Duve

Grip
Thanks alot Eddie. Here's my setup.
Receiver - Sony STR-DA333ES
DVD - Sony DVP-S360
Fronts - B&W 602 S2
Rears - B&W LM1
Center - B&W LCR6 S2
Sub - Sunfire True Signature
Monitor - Mitsubishi VS-50609
Sat - RCA DRD420RE
OK...
I have the DVD hooked to the Receiver via S-Video and Opti
I have the Satellite hooked to the TV via S-Video