What's new

pronunciation and language help (1 Viewer)

Leila Dougan

Screenwriter
I've known, for quite some time, that there is a word I do not pronounce correctly. That word is "often".

Yes, I pronounce the "t". I have no idea how or why I started this, but I've been doing it for many years. Perhaps it's something I picked up when I first started to read. I really don't know.

I do not like pronouncing words incorrectly, so I want to shake this one. The word is just so frequent in my speech and the habit is so ingrained that most of the time I say the word without realizing I've said it.

Any tips for correcting my pronunciation of this word?

As an aside, my pronunciation in general is terrible. I am decent with grammar and okay with spelling. I also sincerely think my spelling is hampered by my poor ability to pronunciate. I think I have a decent vocabulary and reading is not a problem, but sometimes speaking is. For many infrequently used words, I just cannot remember how to say them! I'll be in the middle of a conversation and I'll know which word I want to use, yet somehow I have no idea how to say it. So obviously instead of attempting and failing, I use more simplistic words.

For what it's worth, I also have trouble reading out loud. I sound like a 4th grader (awkward pauses, mispronunciations, no fluidity, etc) and it's quite embarrasing. But reading silently I'm fine. This is very frustrating.

I used to be so good at reading and speaking when I was younger, I have no idea what's happened in the last few years. I'm only 24! Somehow I feel that it's all related to my extremely phonics-oriented education. Most of the words I trip up on have non-standard spellings and pronunciations. Oh, and emphasis shifts cause me a lot of trouble (like the difference between aristocrat and aristocracy). But really it could be anything, maybe?

Anyway, sorry for my long post. Is there anything wrong with me? How can I improve?

Thanks a bunch for any help.

Yee-Ming