Pronto Question: Serial Port Coupler?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Oswald Pascual, Feb 18, 2002.

  1. Oswald Pascual

    Oswald Pascual Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Sony VIAO Laptop does not mate properly with the Pronto TSU-1000 cable. I think the PRONTO is using an RS-232 cable for communications. Both the Pronto cable and my laptop inputs are female! If I get a coupler will this work with my laptop, or is there another option. possible using my USB port? Help Needed... Thanks
     
  2. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try the coupler, there has been a lot of discussion over at Remote Central about connecting a Pronto via USB. To sum it up, it is possible, but it was more trouble that it was worth.
     
  3. Oswald Pascual

    Oswald Pascual Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Arthur, I have read that thread at remote central, but I was hoping that someone has tried the coupler thing already to see if it worked. That USB sounds like a pain so I wont bother trying that. I see no other way of programming my remote with my laptop if the coupler does not work. I was just hoping to hear some positive news on the coupler.
     
  4. ChrisB

    ChrisB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Compaq 2701US with the same thing, I bought a Keyspan USA-19QW and it worked fine. Just make sure you change the USB port to COM1 or it wont work(at least it didnt with mine). I picked mine up a Comp USA for around 59 bucks. I looked at it as a good investment, if I want to go to a customers house and program there remote, I can use my laptop.
     

Share This Page