Pronto Neo: Load of rubish?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by PhillJones, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. PhillJones

    PhillJones Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought onew of these from Tweeter because I like the idea of a touchscreen with the hardbutton cursor.

    It regularly locks up, it's forgotten all it's codes once and had to be re-loaded from the computer and now tha touchscreen seems to have gone out of calibration so badly that I can't even get into setup mode to try and fix it.

    I've read on remote central that there are no end of problems. Even poeple who say they were happy say that it lasted a whole year before breaking.

    Is this remote just a load of old rubish?
     
  2. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which model Pronto is this? I was looking at a TSU7000 (think that's the #) but have held back as I'm not a big fan of Philips reliability....I don't even like their light bulbs. [​IMG] Looks like I will be looking elsewhere...thanks for the tip.....sorry about your problem(s).

    Mort
     
  3. PhillJones

    PhillJones Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, bear in mind that it may be just me, or just my model, the neo is the TSU500 which is completely different to the other prontos.

    I'm interested to hear from other neo owners to see if it's just me being unlucky or if this remote is a lemon.
     
  4. Tim K

    Tim K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had my Neo since a month before I had my house. That was over 2 years ago. I have never had any major problems with it. The only problem I've ever had is a few freeze-ups if I pressed too many keys or keys at the same time. And even then all it took was popping a battery in and out and I was back in business.

    As for the "complaints" on RemoteCentral, most of them are in relation the the 4 hard buttons below the screen breaking off. Yes, they are cheap plastic, but with care they last just fine. I expect to get at least another year out of my Neo before I can justify an upgrade.

    The Neo has lived up to every expectation I had. The only regret I have is that I wish it had a larger screen so I could put more buttons on each page...but that is just me being greedy I think. Oh, and I'd have loved if it was in color...but for the price that's not gonna happen.

    Do you have the latest firmware installed and the latest version of NeoEdit? If not, that is your problem. Your firmware should be version 1.5.3

    I know you also posted on RemoteCentral about the calibration problem....I think you should try to update the firmware anyway as this may reset the Neo.

    Good luck.
     
  5. PhillJones

    PhillJones Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the newest firmware. I've also tried re-installing the firmware. It fixed it for about two hours and then it did it again.

    I just hope the shop I bought it from will take care of it and not pull the old you'll-have to-contact-the-manufacturer dodge.
     
  6. Tim K

    Tim K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds to me like a defective unit. Like I said, I've had mine for over 2 years with no problems. I've been reading remote central for 2 years as well and have never seen this problem before either.

    Good luck.
     
  7. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I custom program pronto's as a side business and generally steer clinets away from the newer models due to some serious bugs. The Neo's aren't that bad though for what they do...but if buttons plus an LCD screen are what you want perhaps the MX500 or MX700 (url=http://www.remotecentral.com/mx700/index.html]link[/url]) might be a better choice.

    For me though a used TSU1000 or TSU2000 for $100 are better deals esp. if you want to interface them with jukebox's for CD's or DVD's (or both in my case)
     
  8. Jason Edgecombe

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    As far as philip's reliability goes, I've had the Pronto TSU2000 (refurbished) for going on four years now. I've never had a single problem with it and don't know how I ever got on without it.
     

Share This Page